COUNTIES OF MINNESOTA

Including the date each county was established by act of the Legislature or proclamation of the Governor, and the origin of the name of each county

The eighty-seven counties were established during four periods:

The first was the territorial period, October 1849 to May 1858. Fifty-six of the eighty-seven counties were established before May 11, 1858. During this period, the only counties named after judges were formed: Meeker and Sherburne.

The second period encompassed the decade following statehood. Fifteen counties—Beltrami, Big Stone, Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Lake, Lyon, Polk, Pope, Redwood, Stevens, Traverse, Wadena, Watonwan, and Wilkin—were established between June 1858, and 1869.

Seven counties—Cook, Kittson, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Marshall, Swift, and Yellow Medicine—were created in the 1870s.

The last period ran from 1881 to 1922, during which nine counties—Norman, Hubbard, Roseau, Red Lake, Clearwater, Koochiching, Mahnomen, Pennington, and Lake of the Woods—were added by proclamation of the governor.

County	County Seat	Dated Established	Origin of Name_
Aitkin	Aitkin	May 23, 1857	William A. Aitkin
Anoka	Anoka	May 23, 1857	Indian term
Becker	Detroit	Mar. 18, 1858	George L. Becker
Beltrami	Bemidji	Feb. 28, 1866	J. C. Beltrami
Benton	Foley	Oct. 27, 1849	Thomas H. Benton
Big Stone	Ortonville	Feb. 20, 1862	The Lake
Blue Earth	Mankato	Mar. 5, 1853	The River
Brown	New Ulm	Feb. 20, 1855	Joseph R. Brown
Carlton	Carlton	May 23, 1857	Reuben B. Carlton
Carver	Chaska	Feb. 20, 1855	Jonathan Carver
Cass	Walker	Sept. 1, 1851	Gen. Lewis Cass

Chippewa	Montevideo	Feb. 20, 1862	Chippewa River
Chisago	Center City	Sept. 1, 1851	Indian term
Clay	Moorhead	Mar. 8, 1862	Henry Clay
Clearwater	Bagley	Dec. 20, 1902	River and Lake
Cook	Grand Marais	Mar. 9, 1874	Maj. Michael Cook
Cottonwood	Windom	May 23, 1857	River and timber
Crow Wing	Brainerd	May 23, 1857	Crow Wing River
Dakota	Hastings	Oct. 27, 1849	Indian tribe
Dodge	Mantorville	Feb. 20, 1855	Henry Dodge
Douglas	Alexandria	Mar. 8, 1858	Stephen A. Douglas
Faribault	Blue Earth	,	Alex. Faribault
Fillmore	Preston	Feb. 20, 1855	Pres. Fillmore
		Mar. 5, 1853	
Freeborn	Albert Lea	Feb. 20, 1855	William Freeborn
Goodhue	Red Wing	Mar. 5, 1853	James M. Goodhue
Grant	Elbow Lake	Mar. 6, 1868	Pres. U. S. Grant
Hennepin	Minneapolis	Mar. 6, 1852	Louis Hennepin
Houston	Caledonia	Feb. 23, 1854	Gen. Sam Houston
Hubbard	Park Rapids	Feb. 26, 1883	Lucius F. Hubbard
Isanti	Cambridge	Feb. 13, 1857	Indian term
Itasca	Grand Rapids	Oct. 27, 1849	The Lake
Jackson	Jackson	May 23, 1857	Pres. Andrew Jackson
Kanabec	Mora	Mar. 13, 1858	Indian term
Kandiyohi	Willmar	Mar. 20, 1858	Indian term
Kittson	Hallock	Mar. 9, 1878	Norman W. Kittson
Koochiching	International Falls	Dec. 19, 1906	Indian term
Lac qui Paris	Madison	Mar. 6, 1871	The Lake
Lake	Two Harbors	Mar. 1, 1866	Lake Superior
Lake of the Woods	Baudette	Nov. 28, 1922	The Lake
Le Sueur	Le Sueur Center	Mar. 5, 1853	Pierre Le Sueur
Lincoln	Ivanhoe	Mar. 6, 1873	Pres. Lincoln
Lyon	Marshall	Mar. 6, 1868	Gen. Nathaniel Lyon
McLeod	Glencoe	Mar. 1, 1856	Martin McLeod
Mahnomen	Mahnomen	Dec. 27, 1906	Indian term
Marshall	Warren	Feb. 25, 1879	Wm. B. Marshall
Martin	Fairmont	May 23, 1857	Henry Martin
Meeker	Litchfield	Feb. 23, 1856	Justice Meeker
Mille Lacs	Milaca	May 23, 1857	The Lake
Morrison	Little Falls	Feb. 23, 1855	Allan Morrison
Mower	Austin	Feb. 23, 1855	John E. Mower
Murray	Slayton	May 23, 1857	William P. Murray
Nicollet	St. Peter	Mar. 5, 1853	Joseph N. Nicollet
Nobles	Worthington	May 23, 1857	William H. Nobles
Norman	Ada	Feb. 17, 1881	The Norsemen
Olmsted	Rochester	Feb 20, 1855	David Olmsted
Otter Tail		*	
Otter Tall	Fergus Falls	Mar. 18, 1858	The River

_			
Pennington	Thief River Falls	Nov. 23, 1910	Edmund Pennington
Pine	Pine City	Mar. 1, 1856	The timber
Pipestone	Pipestone	May 23, 1857	Indian quarries
Polk	Crookston	July 20, 1858 *	Pres. James Polk
Pope	Glenwood	Feb. 20, 1862	Gen. John Pope
Ramsey	St. Paul	Oct. 27, 1849	Alexander Ramsey
Red Lake	Red Lake Falls	Dec. 24, 1896	The Lake
Redwood	Redwood Falls	Feb. 6, 1862	Redwood bush
Renville	Olivia	Feb. 20, 1855	Joseph Renville
Rice	Faribault	Mar. 5, 1853	Henry M. Rice
Rock	Luverne	May 23, 1857	Rock formation
Roseau	Roseau	Dec. 31, 1894	River and Lake
St. Louis	Duluth	Mar. 3, 1855	St. Louis River
Scott	Shakopee	Mar. 5, 1853	Gen. Winfield Scott
Sherburne	Elk River	Feb. 25, 1856	Justice Sherburne
Sibley	Gaylord	Mar. 5, 1853	Henry H. Sibley
Stearns	St. Cloud	Feb. 20, 1855	Charles T. Stearns
Steele	Owatonna	Feb. 20, 1855	Franklin Steele
Stevens	Morris	Feb. 20, 1862	Isaac I. Stevens
Swift	Benson	Feb. 18, 1870	Henry A. Swift
Todd	Long Prairie	Feb. 20, 1855	John B. S. Todd
Traverse	Wheaton	Feb. 20, 1862	The Lake
Wabasha	Wabasha	Oct. 27, 1849	Indian chief
Wadena	Wadena	June 11, 1858	Indian term
Waseca	Waseca	Feb. 27, 1857	Indian term
Washington	Stillwater	Oct. 27, 1849	Pres. Washington
Watonwan	St. James	Feb. 25, 1860	Indian term
Wilkin	Breckenridge	Mar. 6, 1868	Alexander Wilkin
Winona	Winona	Feb. 23, 1854	Indian girl
Wright	Buffalo	Feb. 20, 1855	Silas Wright
Yellow Medicine	Granite Falls	Mar. 6, 1871	Indian term
		,	

^{*} Polk County was formed by the Legislature on July 20, 1858. 1858 Minn. Laws Ch. 67. Most *Minnesota Legislative Manuals*, including the current online edition, record this date; however, several, such as the 1975-1976 edition, list it incorrectly as January 20, 1858. ■

0000000

Posted MLHP: November 26, 2009